Ancient Greek Republics

Course Code: 
Spring Semester
Credit Points: 

Course Outline

1. Theseus The founder of the city of Athens

2. City-State & Sparta-Lycurgus Institution of “City-State”: hermeneutic approach and major features. Spartan regime: analytic presentation (political philosophy and institutions), the lawgiver Lycurgus and the Great Rhetra

3. Solon The aesymnētēs / poet / lawgiver Solon and his far-reaching reform.

4. Cleisthenes The key features of Cleisthenes’ reform: the administrative division of population into ten tribes, the dēmoi, Popular Assemby and Heliaia (new powers and responsibilities), Council of 500, etc.

5. Ephialtes and Pericles Ephialtes: character, ideology, his radical reforms (irrevocable loss of power of Areopagus), and his assassination. Pericles: the climax of Athenian Democracy (clerouchies, Theoric fund, remuneration for public functionaries)

6. The Citizen in Athenian Democracy Rights and duties, regarding both political participation and military action.

Startup Growth Lite is a free theme, contributed to the Drupal Community by More than Themes.